Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events
Log in

IETA announces elections to Council and appointment of Honorary Fellows

07 Dec 2015 12:00 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Contact: Katie Kouchakji, press@ieta.org

PARIS, 7 December – IETA is pleased to announce several new appointments to its board and three new fellows.

At its AGM last week in Paris, the business group’s members elected Paul Dawson from RWE as Chairman of the board, supported by Rick Saines of Baker & McKenzie and Matthew Bateson of Rio Tinto as vice-chairmen.

The members also elected three members to fill vacancies on the Council, including PwC’s Jonathan Grant, Fiona Wild from BHP Billiton and BP’s Dan Barry.  The AGM also approved Council members’ re-election for another term, including:

  •  Daniele Agostini – Enel
  • Takashi Hongo – Mitsui Global Strategic Studies Institute
  • Arthur Lee – Chevron
  • Geoff Sinclair – Camco Clean Energy
  • Bill Tyndall – Duke Energy
  • Karl Upston-Hooper - GreenStream

“I am delighted to announce these new appointments, which bring a new range of experience and perspective to our board,” says Dirk Forrister, IETA’s CEO and President. “As carbon markets continue to spread around the world, IETA’s membership is increasingly diverse, both geographically and in terms of sectors, and I feel the new board reflects this.”

The IETA Council also announced the appointment of three new IETA Fellows:

  • Frank Joshua, in recognition of his role in establishing IETA in 1999;
  • Pedro Moura Costa, for his contribution to developing the carbon market as the co-founder of EcoSecurities, one of the early pioneers of project-based emissions reduction initiatives; and
  • Anne-Marie Warris, for her tireless efforts to bring standards and transparency to the wider carbon market, including efforts on shipping and in establishing the first version of the Verified Carbon Standard in 2006.

“Frank, Pedro and Anne-Marie bring a depth of knowledge and experience to our Fellows programme, which will be even more crucial as the next wave of emissions trading ramps up,” says Forrister. “Over the years, all three have played key roles in building the profession through IETA.  We are delighted to offer them this tribute for their contributions of time and talent.”

IETA Fellows are announced annually as the organisation’s highest honours to recognise the contributions of individuals in developing market-based solutions to climate change and in strengthening the role of the IETA in building the profession.

Please download this press release here.

Contact Us
Office: +41 22 737 05 00

© Copyright 1999-2023, IETA. All rights reserved.     |      PRIVACY POLICY